Books I Found on My Parent's Bookshelf and Ended Up Loving! | Recommended Reading

Updated: Jan 20

How do you feel about ebooks? I'm not a fan. At all. I'm definitely a physical book, need to hold the book in my hands, flip the pages, kind of person. Ebooks aren't an experience. And when I read, I want the experience.



So every once in a while I'll run out of good reading material when visiting my parents and head over to their bookshelves to see if anything catches my eye. There are SO many fantastic oldie, but goodies out there.


If you're looking for something a little older that's still a guaranteed page-turner , look no further! Check out these titles that have been my favorite picks from my parent's bookshelf over the years!!



The Duchess by Danielle Steel (Amazon)


"ORPHANED. BETRAYED. DETERMINED." Okayyyyyy.


It's 19th century England. And Angélique is done DIRTY by her half-brothers when her father dies, leaving her orphaned. Penniless with ZERO connections, she decides to head to Paris. Smart girl. Through a few twists and turns of events, Angélique is soon operating her own bordello! #scandalous

Can Angélique make a name for herself and come out on top in a shitty situation?? You've got to read it to find out!


Who should read it?

This fun historical novel is a great easy read for anyone who loves period pieces and strong female characters!



Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom (Amazon)


I know a lot of people read this in high school, but I discovered it a LOT later. It was one I had seen floating around for years, and when I finally picked it up I fell in love.


People come in and out of our lives, sometimes only for a season. In Tuesdays with Morrie the main character reunites with the man who changed his life 20 years ago and is a companion to him during his last months of life, battling with ALS. It's a tearjerker that will stick with you long after you're done reading.


Who should read it?

Mentors & mentees. Anyone looking for a fast read with a serious, captivating message.



And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (Amazon)


"Ten people, each with something to hide and something to fear, are invited to an isolated mansion on Indian Island by a host who, surprisingly, fails to appear. On the island they are cut off from everything but each other and the inescapable shadows of their own past lives. One by one, the guests share the darkest secrets of their wicked pasts. And one by one, they die…"


Agatha Christie's classic murder mystery is full of twists and turns that you won't see coming. Christie basically created the murder mystery genre and is now the world's all-time bestselling author! This one definitely kept me guessing.


Who should read it?

Fans of murder mysteries, thrillers. Anyone who loves a good plot twist.



Moonlight Becomes You by Mary Higgins Clark (Amazon)


They don't call Mary Higgins Clark the queen of suspense for nothing. When main character Maggie Holloway's beloved stepmother is murdered under suspicious circumstances, Maggie sets out to find out what really happened. When she starts asking too many questions, she ends up with a target on her own back!


Who should read it?

Another one for murder mystery & thriller fans. Anyone looking for a good pageturner!



Deception Point by Dan Brown (Amazon)


"When a new NASA satellite spots evidence of an astonishingly rare object buried deep in the Arctic ice, the floundering space agency proclaims a much-needed victory...a victory that has profound implications for US space policy and the impending presidential election." This political thriller had me on the edge of my seat. I did NOT want to put this one down.


Who should read it?

Anyone looking for a thriller full of political intrigue and high-stakes action. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown's well-known Da Vinci Code series.



The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis (Amazon)


While we all know and love C.S. Lewis for giving us Narnia, The Screwtape Letters has an entirely different feel. This religious satire is sharp and smart. "At once wildly comic, deadly serious, and strikingly original, C.S. Lewis's The Screwtape Letters is the most engaging account of temptation—and triumph over it—ever written. "


Who should read it?